Yes. Weed is legal in Missouri. The Missouri state government made history by legalizing medical marijuana in 2018. People can now consume weed for medical reasons. Missouri did not delay the next step.
In 2022, Missouri’s state government approved weed consumption for recreational purposes. Thus, Missouri approved weed consumption within just four years for both purposes. Thanks to the citizens of Missouri, the advantages of weed consumption were well accepted by the government.
Is Recreational Marijuana Legal in Missouri?
Missouri state government passed the Amendment 3 in 2022. This ballot amendment legalized the consumption of weed for recreational reasons. According to the 2022 Missouri Marijuana Legalization initiative, an adult of 21 years or above can purchase weed for recreational purposes.
They can possess a total of 3 ounces of marijuana under their name. All they have to do is provide proof of their age with an ID card issued by the government.
Amendment 3 also permits each 21-year-old or above individual to grow cannabis at home. An adult can cultivate a maximum of 6 flowering weed plants. Moreover, they can grow 6 non-flowering plants and 6 clones.
They can enjoy this freedom by registering as a cultivator with an annual fee of $100. With the legalization of recreational weed, adults are now enjoying different cannabis forms like dried flowers, hashish, and more.
Is Weed Legal In Missouri?
The Governor of Missouri approved the medical use of CBD oil through the Missouri Medical Marijuana Bill in 2014. It was issued to treat seizures in epilepsy.
The state government of Missouri issued the Amendment 2 in 2018. According to Amendment 2, licensed doctors can now prescribe medical marijuana as a medicinal alternative in Missouri.
Under the provisions of the same amendment, a qualifying patient has the complete freedom to purchase weed and consume it to relieve the uneasiness of certain medical conditions.
A patient requires a government-registered medical marijuana card to access the freedom. KIF helps patients seamlessly complete the application process.
As per the provisions of Amendment 2, a qualifying patient can carry out the transaction of a total of 4 ounces of cannabis in one month. In addition to that, a qualifying patient has the privilege of growing weed plants at home.
However, they will have to apply for permission to cultivate weed separately. After approval, they can grow up to 6 flowering plants and 6 ânon-flowering plants above 14 inches. They can also grow 6 clones of below 14 inches. Patients cannot buy seeds if they are not authorized to cultivate weed.
The minimum age criterion for medical marijuana card registration is 18 years. Licensed caregivers can carry out the transaction on behalf of minor qualifying patients.
The use of cannabis in America has a long history in the past. Missouri’s state government considered the rich past and accepted the advantages of using weed for therapeutic reasons. The considerable positive reviews of weed use led the government to legalize the use in medical sectors.
The body listed several chronic medical conditions as qualifying conditions. HIV, AIDS, Crohn’s disease, Glaucoma, multiple sclerosis, Tourette syndrome, Parkinson’s disease, cancer, chronic muscle pain, and other terminal diseases are listed as qualifying conditions.
KIF helps patients with debilitating medical conditions through a speedy registration process.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession
- Possessing a maximum of 10 grams of weed is a Class D misdemeanor for first-time offenders. An individual can face a fine of a maximum of $500. They will not be sentenced to jail. But it must be treated as a warning.
- It is a Class A demeanor to possess above 10 grams but less than 35 grams of marijuana. An offender may face a fine of a maximum of $2000 and up to 12 months of imprisonment as punishment.
- It is a Class D felony to possess weed between 35 grams to 30 kilograms. Offenders may face a maximum of 7 years of imprisonment. In addition, they may have to pay $10,000 in fines.
- Possessing more than 4 ounces of weed is illegal for a qualifying patient. If caught, their medical card can be revoked, followed by a fine of $200.
Is Weed Decriminalized in Missouri?
The states of the United States of America have their law alongside the federal law.
The state government of Missouri legalized the use of weed for both purposes. It is not a criminal offense if an individual possesses weed under the legalized amount.
UJ0K8ONH7IThough it is legal in Missouri, federal law has not legalized weed consumption yet.
The federal government has listed weed as a Schedule 1 drug. Hence, you cannot consume weed on federal lands. Moreover, it is a punishable offense to consume weed in public places.
Future of Cannabis Legalization in Missouri
It took a long time for Missouri to legalize weed. From 2018, patients can access weed from licensed stores for medical reasons. The market of weed started growing legally since then.
After four years, when Missouri’s state government legalized the adult use of weed, the market saw a boom in their business.
Thanks to the awareness of Missouri residents, the legal sale of marijuana has grown exponentially despite several restrictions. Missouri allows adults from other states to purchase marijuana from their local dispensaries.
As a result, the market sales of marijuana have hiked up since legalization. People visit Missouri for cannabis, naming it canna-tourism.
Weed business in Missouri has been pacing toward a bright future thanks to legalization. Moreover, the relatively low tax and lower price of weed are another reason why adults are visiting Missouri.
The future of weed in Missouri is bright. It also offers employment to hundreds in the weed facilities.
Missouri Marijuana Laws in 2023
- A 21-year-old adult or above can possess 3 ounces. They must ensure that their total possession does not exceed the legal quantity.
- Every adult has to produce an age-proof ID before buying weed from a licensed dispensary.
- Recreational weed is subjected to a 6% excise tax. An individual may have to pay an additional 3% sales tax levied by the stated government.
- A qualifying patient may possess more than the legalized amount. For that, they must obtain recommendations from at least 2 licensed physicians.
- You cannot cultivate weed in your home without proper permission. The law does not alter for a qualifying patient.
- Weed must be stored inside the container provided by the licensed stores, i.e., you must not keep it in any other unnamed container.
- You must not drive cars under the influence of cannabis. You cannot consume weed sitting in the backseat of a car. It may influence the driver.
Who handles the approval of Missouri medical marijuana cards?
The Department of Health and Senior Services, or DHSS in Missouri, handles the approval of medical marijuana cards in Missouri. It is a regulatory body of the medical marijuana industry of Missouri.
How much concentrated cannabis can I possess in Missouri?
You can possess a total of 8 grams of cannabis concentrate in Missouri.
Will I be violating the smoke-free act if I consume weed?
You can consume weed inside your home. The smoke-free act states that smoking tobacco or any plant-based product is prohibited in no-smoking zones. Therefore, you will violate the smoke-free act if you consume weed in no-smoking zones.