Yes. Individuals are free to use marijuana legally in Virginia for recreational and medical use.
Interestingly, Virginia was among the first states to take new measures to legalize cannabis in the southern US. The medical dispensary first became operational on August 10, 2020, to serve the eligible people of Virginia. In July 2021, recreational marijuana got approval for legal marijuana usage.
The Virginia cannabis law allows individuals aged 21+ to own 1 oz (about 28.35 g) of marijuana. Every home has the permission to cultivate around four weed plants. Moreover, the state authorizes people to share marijuana without any sales transaction.
Is Recreational Marijuana Legal in Virginia?
Yes, recreational marijuana has been legal in Virginia since July 1, 2021. According to the law, people aged 21 and above can own 1 oz (28.35 g) or less of weed and may grow around four plants within their domestic boundaries.
While it is excellent news that you can buy and grow marijuana, the distribution network still seeks proper establishment. According to the schedule, the recreational dispensaries or retail sales must commence from January 1, 2024.
However, no support from certain sections of politicians has led to the delay in the propelling of retail sales.
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Virginia?
Yes. The Virginia cannabis law permits individuals with medical marijuana cards to benefit from medical marijuana usage. KIF is a seamless option if you want your card in a few minutes. Their staff have adequate knowledge and will guide you through the application process.
The 1979 law of medical marijuana gave citizens the approval to fully utilize marijuana to treat chemotherapy side effects and devastating symptoms of glaucoma. Another bill of 2015 opened the doors for CBD oil or THCA to treat intractable epilepsy.
The 2018 bill under the former Gov. Northam became the law to enable physicians to prescribe their patient's medicinal marijuana if it could help them. The Board of Pharmacy of Virginia also gave a few companies the right to operate medical marijuana dispensaries. Currently (September 2023), there are over 1,000 registered doctors within the state to provide cannabis recommendations.
From July 2023, doctors, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and osteopaths may not register to prescribe medical marijuana. Additionally, registered patients can buy marijuana doses with up to 10 mg of THC. Around 21 cannabis dispensaries are accessible throughout the state for you to purchase your amounts.
KIF makes an ideal choice for anyone who wishes to obtain a medical cannabis card at an affordable cost without any hassle. Medical marijuana can help you significantly manage your pain and enhance your well-being.
The Commonwealth gives you access to sprays, oils, creams, patches, inhalation products, capsules, tinctures, gels, lozenges, etc.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession
- Are you going out in public in Virginia while carrying marijuana? Just verify it is nowhere over the mark of 1 ounce because keeping greater than 1 ounce (about 28.35 g) and below 4 ounces (about 113.4 g) counts as a civil violation with a $25 fine.
- Your actions will result in a misdemeanor if you have over 4 ounces of weed but lower than 1 pound. Provided your activities fall under the first offense, you must pay a fine of $500. But if it is your second or subsequent offense, the law allows authorities to punish you with a maximum incarceration time of 6 months with a $1000 fine.
- Virginia laws for possessing over 1 pound of marijuana in public is a much more grave offense and falls under a felony. You will face 1 to 10 years in prison and be fined a price of $250,000.
- Additionally, you cannot have over four plants in your household. Based on the total number of cannabis plants in your possession, you can face varying penalties.
- It is a criminal misdemeanor to carry weed within the school boundaries.
- Individuals of illegal age (below 21) will also face a $25 fine for violating the laws of marijuana possession. If you fall under this category, the law will demand you to attend an education program or treatment for substance abuse.
Is Weed Decriminalized in Virginia?
Yes, the decriminalization process of marijuana took place in 2020. Gov. Ralph Northam approved the bill, which decriminalizes possession of simple marijuana. The bill became law in July 2020. Hence, you won't face any charges if you have below 1 ounce (about 28 g) of dosage on you for personal use.
Future of Cannabis Legalization in Virginia
While recreational and medical marijuana has seen a push toward legalization, the future of cannabis legalization looks bleary in Virginia. The lawmakers still seem unclear with their steps towards permitting marijuana use.
While you may possess, grow, and share around 1 oz of marijuana, the state lacks legal sources to deliver cannabis products for recreational purposes. Hence, the legal status of marijuana can be puzzling and lead to the opening of illegal shops.
2023 saw a presentation of numerous bills to establish a thriving recreational cannabis market. However, many failed to succeed. SB 1133 is still looking forward to creating a solid structure for the retail market. However, its success is not so promising.
Virginia Marijuana Laws in 2023
- If you are 21+, you can possess up to 1 oz of cannabis. You will be facing a penalty for carrying over 1 oz.
- It is illegal for people under the age of 21 to possess, consume, or purchase weed.
- Only legalized adults can grow at most four marijuana plants within their dwelling. If you wish to grow marijuana, you must ensure it is not visible to your neighbors or from the street. Ensure your plants have a readable tag with your name, ID number, and a notation that you are using the plant only for personal use.
- Additionally, you may only share 1 oz of weed with another legal-aged individual without commercial exchange. The law prohibits everyone in Virginia from selling or distributing weed.
- Individuals cannot drive in the state while cannabis and its products are in an open vessel, not from an original manufacturer.
Can I smoke marijuana in Virginia?
- If you are 21 or older, you can smoke marijuana within the premises of your house. But you cannot smoke outside in public. These include sitting in your car, driving, or even as a passenger.
Who has the authority to use medicinal marijuana in Virginia?
- Virginians with a certificate for an eligible health condition can use medical marijuana. Physicians can prescribe medical cannabis for specific problems that weaken patients physically and mentally and are regarded as chronic by the Bureau of Health. These include anxiety, autism, Alzheimer's disease, cancer, chronic pain, cachexia, epilepsy, fibromyalgia, glaucoma, hepatitis C, IBS, etc.
Are recreational sales legal in Virginia?
- No, there was no reenactment for the legal framework to build a retail market for adult recreational cannabis use by the General Assembly. This issue may be a part of the discussion shortly.