Is Weed Legal In Utah?
Reading Time: 4 minutes

Yes. Weed is legal in Utah, but only for medical purposes.

The state ensures that a resident has complete liberty to purchase marijuana as a medicinal alternative. The state legislature of Utah passed the act in 2018. The process of legalization of medical marijuana was fast-paced. But it took several turns of modifications afterward. However, weed for adult use is still illegal in Utah. Residents of Utah cannot consume marijuana for recreational purposes.

No. The state laws of Utah do not permit the consumption of marijuana for recreational reasons. The legislature has not taken any step yet. The present condition clearly implies that the state is not currently considering adult use of weed.

Since recreational weed is not legal in Utah, no one can possess any amount of weed. That means residents, regardless of age, cannot consume the slightest amount of cannabis for recreation. They need a license to obtain weed from a licensed store. Unless the state passes any new law to legalize the adult use of weed, the condition continues.

The government of Utah approves the consumption of marijuana for medical reasons. The Utah House of Representatives issued House Bill 195 in 2018. The bill approves the use of medical marijuana on the grounds of the ‘right to try.’ The bill allowed the cultivation of marijuana for terminally ill patients. The Utah Medical Cannabis Act was passed on the November Ballot of 2018. It was passed as Ballot Proposition 2. Lastly, the state legislature issued House Bill 3001. The bill amended the said act through Proposition 2. The then Governor signed it into law.

Per the act’s provisions, doctors can now prescribe weed as medicines to qualifying patients. Under the same provisions, qualifying patients can purchase medical cannabis from licensed medical stores. Each qualifying patient must obtain a valid medical marijuana card to purchase medical marijuana lawfully. KIF has vowed to help every qualifying patient in their seamless registration process.

Utah state government issues medical marijuana cards to those with at least one qualifying condition. The state has prepared a list of qualifying medical conditions. Cancer, AIDS, HIV, and Epilepsy are common conditions. The state added some more. Hospice care, autism, and any terminal illness with a life expectancy below 6 months are considered qualifying conditions, too. A qualifying patient can purchase a total of 113 grams of unprocessed weed for one month. Their validity must be limited to 60 days. It allows a patient to possess a maximum of 20 grams of THC in every dosage. However, the card does not let its owner cultivate weed at home. Contact KIF for your next medical marijuana card.

Penalties for Marijuana Possession

  • It is a Class B misdemeanor to possess weed below 1 ounce. An offender will face imprisonment of a maximum of 6 months, followed by a fine of $1,000 at maximum.
  • The same offender will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor for a second conviction,
  • The third-time offense is treated as a third-degree felony for the same convict in Utah.
  • It is a Class A misdemeanor to possess weed above 1 ounce. An offender may get imprisoned for a maximum of 12 months, followed by a fine of $2,500 at maximum. The possessed amount must be within 1 pound.
  • It is a third-degree felony to possess over 1 pound of weed. An offender will be given prison time of a maximum of 5 years. They may have to pay a maximum of $5,000 in fines. The possession limit must be within 100 pounds.
  • It is a second-degree felony to possess weed over 100 pounds. An offender may face imprisonment of a maximum of 15 years, followed by a maximum fine of $10,000.

Is Weed Decriminalized in Utah?

Possession of cannabis with the state for recreation is not decriminalized in Utah. The state has not yet passed any bill that decriminalizes weed possession. Carrying even less than an ounce of weed is a punishable offense. The state has been rigorous in controlling the illegal possession of marijuana. Even the medical card owners have to prove their validity before the personnel.

As you already know, the United States of America has a federal system. As per the federal law, the nation does not approve possession of weed. That is to say, you cannot consume weed on properties occupied by the federal body. It is a criminal offense here.

Future of Cannabis Legalization in Utah

Legalizing weed for medical reasons has opened the weed market in Utah. The business is steadily growing. Different forms of weed products are available in the market for medical use.

The state would make a massive profit if it legalized recreational weed. The market would see a boom. It would also help job seekers to find new jobs in the weed market. Investors would love to invest in chunks in cultivating this cash crop.

The future of the legalization of cannabis in Utah is uncertain. While business people await the legalization of adult use of marijuana, individuals await recreational vaping. Significant growth of the weed industry will be possible after the state’s effective measures.

Utah Marijuana Laws in 2024

  • Patients above 18 years can purchase medical weed legally from licensed medical stores with their government-issued medical marijuana card.
  • Registered caregivers must purchase dosage on behalf of minor qualifying patients.
  • Recreational consumption of cannabis is strictly prohibited in Utah.
  • Qualifying patients are not allowed to consume weed in public places. The same is applicable in schools and workplaces.
  • Individuals must not drive in an intoxicated state due to weed consumption. They must not ride a car while consuming weed products.


I have a medical marijuana card from another state. May I buy weed in Utah?

  • Yes. The state government practices reciprocity in Utah. Out-of-state patients can buy weed products in the state. However, their medical marijuana card is not enough for that. They must obtain a temporary non-Utah resident card. The card is valid for 21 days from the date of issue.

Can I own a paraphernalia in Utah?

  • Utah does not permit the recreational consumption of weed. Hence, possession of weed paraphernalia is treated as unlawful. You may be sentenced to prison. You will have to pay thousands of dollars in fines. The severity of punishment varies based on the intention of possession. Selling of paraphernalia is also punishable.

Is telemedicine consultation available in Utah?

  • Yes. Utah encourages telemedicine consultation. You must consult the same doctor who issued you the initial certification while renewing your medical marijuana card.

By Kif Team

The Kif Team has expert team of writers with a profound understanding of holistic medicine. We specialize in assisting individuals in obtaining their medical marijuana cards. We firmly believe in the therapeutic benefits of medical cannabis for various health conditions. Our mission is to educate and enlighten as many people as possible about its potential advantages.

Terms & Conditions