It might be a surprise for some of you but medical marijuana was legalized in the state of Nevada all the way back in 2001. This makes Nevada one of the very first US states that legalize marijuana for qualifying patients.
In the year 2017, the state moved one step further by legalizing recreational marijuana as well.
Still, there are some privileges that only registered medical marijuana patients enjoy. For example, registered patients can possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and have the right to grow up to 12 cannabis plants.
On the other hand, recreational marijuana users can only possess up to one ounce of marijuana and donât have the right to grow their own cannabis plants.
Qualifying Medical Conditions For A Nevada Medical Card
In order to qualify for a medical marijuana card in Nevada, the state requires a patient to be diagnosed with one of the following qualifying medical conditions,
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe pain
- HIV or AIDS
- Wasting syndrome
- Severe nausea
- Muscle spasms
As per state law, you must be diagnosed and marked fit to opt for medical marijuana-based treatment by a state-licensed medical practitioner.
What Are The Documents Youâll Need?
- A medical marijuana recommendation signed by a licensed medical practitioner.
- Your complete medical marijuana card application will be submitted to the relevant state authority.
- Proof of payment for the medical marijuana card application fee paid to the relevant department.
Steps To Follow To Get A Nevada Medical Marijuana Card
- The first step is to book an appointment with a certified medical practitioner in Nevada to get a medical marijuana recommendation. If you donât know where to start, Kif Doctors can help you with it. Our telemedicine-powered online appointment booking system will allow you to book your appointment and give an evaluation completely online. We also give a money-back guarantee to ensure your satisfaction with our services.
- Once you have successfully received your medical marijuana recommendation, the next step is to fill out your medical marijuana application online with the medical marijuana registry in the state of Nevada. Make sure that you provide all the necessary documents along with your application.
- You also need to pay the application fee and attach the proof of payment with your application. The fee for a one-year card is $50 while for a two-year card, youâll have to pay $100.
- Submit your application and wait for your approval. Once you get approved, youâll be further guided by the relevant department regarding how to receive your MMJ card.
Can You Register As A Caregiver in Nevada?
As per the stateâs law, medical marijuana patients who are younger than 18 are eligible to apply for a medical marijuana card as long as they have a registered caregiver by their side.
The main duties of a caregiver involve aiding the patients to purchase, cultivate, possess, and consume medical marijuana products. In order to be registered as a caregiver in Nevada, the following are the core requirements,
- Proof of their residence in order to verify their status as a resident of the state of Nevada.
- Caregivers must be 21 years of age or older. Applicants who are below the set age limit will automatically be disqualified.
- The caregivers must follow the marijuana possession and cultivation laws applicable to registered medical marijuana patients.
What are the marijuana possession requirements in Nevada?
Registered medical marijuana patients are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana while adults (21 or older) can possess up to one ounce of marijuana for recreational use.
Are caregivers allowed in Nevada?
Yes, the state of Nevada does allow medical marijuana patients to be accompanied by registered caregivers. In order to register as one, a person may be required to meet certain conditions set by the law.
Can I grow my own cannabis in Nevada?
If youâre a registered medical marijuana user, you can grow up to 12 cannabis plants within your closed private residence. Recreational marijuana users arenât allowed to cultivate cannabis.
Is there a registration fee for an MMJ card in Nevada?
Yes, $50 for an MMJ card having a one-year validity and $100 for a card thatâll be valid for two years.