Texas is known for its harsh point of view when it comes to anything related to cannabis. Before 1975, the state had one of the harshest cannabis-related laws. Even though medical cannabis has been legalized within the state since 2015, the state does have very outdated laws. Fortunately, patients who are not yet 18 can apply for a medical marijuana card in Texas, if they are accompanied by a designated caregiver.
Eligibility requirements for a medical marijuana card in Texas
The state of Texas follows the standard eligibility criteria set to determine whether a patient can get access to medical marijuana or not. As per the criteria, the patient must be a resident of Texas and must have a valid medical marijuana recommendation from a certified medical doctor. A patient who is not yet 18 can also apply for a medical marijuana card with the help of a designated caregiver.
Qualifying medical conditions
As per the state law, a patient must be diagnosed with one of the following qualifying medical conditions in order to be marked eligible for a Texas medical marijuana card,
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Seizure Disorders
- Terminal Cancer
- Incurable Neurogenerative Disorders
What exactly is a caregiver?
The Texas cannabis law clearly states that each caregiver must be entered into the CURT program by the relevant evaluating physician. Thereâs no need to manually do something and no card will be issued out by the relevant state authority. The caregiver can aid a minor who qualifies for a medical marijuana card.
Medical Marijuana Laws for minors in Texas
The medical marijuana laws are similar for both qualifying adult and minor patients within the state. Some of the key points of these laws include,
- Smoking medical cannabis products is illegal as per Texas law. The only possible way to consume relevant products is by using oral items such as oils or sprays.
- Under the Texas law, hashish and concentrates are not considered as a type of marijuana. However, possessing either of them is illegal.
- Possessing up to two ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by 180 days in prison, a $2000 fine, and the suspension of your driverâs license.
Even though the Compassionate Use Act was established to allow medical marijuana patients to benefit from the program, the state of Texas does need to take a more lenient approach on the matter. Even a cannabis-related misdemeanor can lead to prison time and heavy fines being imposed.