Is Weed Legal In Rhode Island?
Reading Time: 4 minutes

Yes. Weed is legal in Rhode Island.

The state legalized medical marijuana in 2006. The state legislature of Rhode Island passed another law in 2022. This act legalized the consumption of weed for recreational purposes. People are now free to possess marijuana for adult use.

The state government of Rhode Island approves its residents to consume marijuana for recreational reasons. The state passed the Rhode Island Cannabis Act in 2022. As per the act, adults of at least 21 years have complete freedom to purchase weed from a licensed marijuana store. They can purchase a maximum of 1 ounce (28 grams) of weed in every transaction. They can also purchase concentrated cannabis. However, the concentration amount is limited to 5 grams.
The Rhode Island Cannabis Act also enables an adult of 21 and above to store a total of 10 ounces of weed at home. They can sell a maximum of 1 ounce of weed to another adult. The act does not just give the liberty to possess marijuana. It also allows adults to cultivate weed at home. An adult can plant a total of 6 marijuana plants, including a maximum of 3 matured plants.

Yes. The state government of Rhode Island legalized the consumption of medical marijuana in 2006. The state issued the Senate Bill 0710. It is also called Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater’s Medical Marijuana Act. Licensed doctors can prescribe marijuana to qualifying patients. Similarly, a qualifying patient can purchase marijuana from licensed marijuana dispensaries. Every qualifying patient must obtain a medical marijuana card to purchase medical marijuana. KIF streamlines the complicated process of medical marijuana card registration in a simplified way.

A qualifying patient can buy a total of 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of medical weed in every transaction. They can store a maximum of 10 ounces of weed. The card also enables a qualifying patient to possess a maximum of 1 gram of concentrated weed. The amount equals 3.3 grams of weed flower. The medical marijuana card does not just allow a qualifying patient to purchase weed products. It also comes with a greater privilege of home cultivation. A medical marijuana patient can grow a total of 12 weed plants. The number of mature weed plants must not exceed 6. They must ensure the plants are cultivated indoors, away from public exposure.

The nation has a long history of marijuana use for therapeutic purposes. Rhode Island accepted the goodness of weed. The state released a list of debilitating conditions. AIDS, Cancer, HIV, Glaucoma, Cachexia, Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinson’s Disease, Crohn’s Disease, Chronic pain and nausea are some conditions. Contact KIF agents for a better registration experience.

Penalties for Marijuana Possession

  1. It is a misdemeanor to possess weed above 10 ounces in Rhode Island. An offender may face a maximum of 5 years of imprisonment, followed by a fine of $500 at maximum. The possession limit must not exceed 1 kg for this punishment.
  2. It is treated as possessing weed to distribute if an offender is caught with weed amounting above 1 kg. They will face a punishment of a minimum of 10 years of imprisonment. The time can be extended to 50 years based on the severity of the crime. The maximum fine is limited to $500,000.
  3. It is a felony to possess weed above 5 kilograms in Rhode Island. An offender gets a minimum prison sentence of 25 years. It may extend to a life imprisonment. They have to pay a fine of a maximum of $100,000.
  4. The penalties get doubled if caught within 300 yards of a school.
  5. Possession of weed while driving a car will cost you 6 months of suspension of the driver’s license.

Is Weed Decriminalized in Rhode Island?

The state decriminalized the use of marijuana for adult use in 2022. Convicts with records of weed possession within the legal limit were expunged that year. Thus, an individual will not be arrested for possessing recreational weed under 10 ounces. However, the state is stringent in controlling the illegal possession of weed. It imposes serious punishments if anyone violates the state laws for marijuana.

Weed is a Schedule 1 drug before the eyes of federal law. It does not allow the consumption of weed. States are not mandated to allow federal laws. But, an individual must not possess weed on the specific properties owned by the federal body. It is a criminal offense.

Future of Cannabis Legalization in Rhode Island

The future of cannabis legalization is bright in Rhode Island. The state legalized the use of weed in the medical sector long back in 2006. It is the second state in the United States of America to open a marijuana dispensary. The market for weed started flourishing from then. The state has three marijuana dispensaries that regulate the legal sale of medical marijuana. One can easily picture weed’s positive impact on the state’s economy.

The state experienced the commercial success of weed after it legalized the adult use of marijuana. An adult can store a maximum of 10 ounces. This relaxation extends the growth of the weed industry to a greater level. Moreover, the Healing Church in Rhode Island certifies weed as a ‘holy herb.’ It is an encouraging remark in the business of weed in the state.

Rhode Island Marijuana Laws in 2024

  • Any adult of at least 21 years can possess a total of 10 ounces of weed for consumption.
  • Qualifying patients can possess a maximum of 2.5 ounces of medical weed at a time.
  • Every minor qualifying patient must have a registered caregiver. Caregivers must purchase weed on behalf of those minors.
  • Individuals can smoke weed in cigarette-smoking zones.
  • Individuals must not drive being intoxicated with marijuana. They must not consume weed while riding a motor vehicle.


Will the court expunge my previous record of weed offense?

  • The state has decriminalized possessing weed under 10 ounces. If your offense falls under this category, your conviction is no longer criminal. The court will expunge all offenses that have been decriminalized.

Can I buy weed with an out-of-state medical marijuana card in Rhode Island?

  • Rhode Island accepts out-of-state medical marijuana cards issued by other American states. If you inhabit another state, you can purchase weed legally from Rhode Island.
  • Weed paraphernalia is illegal in Rhode Island. An offender will be sentenced to a maximum of 2 years of imprisonment, followed by a fine of a maximum of $5,000. Try to avoid obtaining such things.

By Kif Team

The Kif Team has expert team of writers with a profound understanding of holistic medicine. We specialize in assisting individuals in obtaining their medical marijuana cards. We firmly believe in the therapeutic benefits of medical cannabis for various health conditions. Our mission is to educate and enlighten as many people as possible about its potential advantages.

Terms & Conditions