Is Weed Legal In Pennsylvania?
Reading Time: 4 minutes

Several notable cities in Pennsylvania permit individuals to retain restricted amounts of marijuana. Nonetheless, the state prohibits recreational use. The medical marijuana program was put into effect by the Pennsylvania Department of Health in 2016 to legalize medical marijuana usage.

Today, more than 170 dispensaries are functioning in the state to aid medical patients containing medical cards. Further, on July 6, 2023, two senators presented the bipartisan bill to authorize adults of age 21 years or more to legally utilize, possess, and purchase marijuana for recreational purposes. SB 846 enables users to carry no more than 30 g of marijuana.

No. The existing state law makes possessing marijuana illegal in Pennsylvania. Law enforcement agencies can punish any individual for illegally carrying cannabis. Individuals can get arrested by the authorities even for having less than 1 g of marijuana. Hence, the dose of marijuana in a person’s possession does not matter. Nevertheless, Pennsylvania is the sole state among tri-state regions to decriminalize marijuana at the state level.

Yes. With the approval of Senate Bill 3 in April 2016 by then-governor Tom Wolf (2015-2023), medical marijuana is legal in Pennsylvania. Considering the bill, patients are free to use marijuana with a physician’s consent to treat around 17 grave medical illnesses recorded in the bill. These include PTSD, cancer, assorted gastrointestinal and neurological disorders, epilepsy, autism, and others.

The bill also established a state-licensed system for delivering marijuana legally to patients. One of the highlights of this bill included the 5% tax imposed on the sales among the processors, growers, or dispensaries. However, growing marijuana at home is still an illegal idea. Pennsylvania falls in the 24th position to legalize medical marijuana. To access medical marijuana, possessing a valid medical marijuana card is essential, and KIF is here to assist those in need of such cards. With KIF support, the process of obtaining medical marijuana cards becomes straightforward and hassle-free.

Additionally, patients of medical marijuana can hold up to 90 days (about three months) of supply of their medicine. Hence, patients must purchase cannabis from a licensed dispensary that offers a limited amount.
Recently introduced SB 846 would enable registered patients for medical marijuana to cultivate cannabis at home by themselves.

Penalties for Marijuana Possession

Having 8 g or less hash (no detailed information on concentrates) or possessing 30 g or less marijuana flower comes under a misdemeanor. Thirty days of jail with a fine of $500 awaits the offenders.

  • Offenders possessing over 30 g dosage of cannabis flowers or over 8 g of hash will face imprisonment of 6 to 12 months with a fine of $5,000.
  • A second offense will lead to a punishment costing around $25000 with 18 to 36 months (about three years) of imprisonment.
  • For the first offense, the individual gets a conditional release option. The offender will get a year on probation over imprisonment.
  • A second offense doubles the penalty.

Is Weed Decriminalized in Pennsylvania?

The state of Pennsylvania comprises local jurisdictions that enforce resolutions of municipal laws to decriminalize the offenses of possessing minor cannabis. During the last few years, municipal efforts have become widespread to reduce or remove local penalties for cannabis-related violations.

Several cities have approved ordinances for lower penalties related to cannabis compared to state laws. Consequently, most of the citizens live in areas without strictly enforced cannabis criminalization despite the existence of jurisdictions with state-wide criminalized cannabis.

Future of Cannabis Legalization in Pennsylvania

There can be some positive shifts in terms of cannabis law. With medical marijuana legalized in 2016, the dispensaries began selling to patients in 2018. The medical marijuana program’s initial year saw astronomical sales amounting to $132 million, boosting PA’s tax revenue.

There has been an evident growth in the numbers, reaching $900 million in 2020-21. The 2025 prediction states these numbers will increase to billions. Additionally, in January 2023, Pennsylvania Secretary for Agriculture Russell C. Redding awarded grants to expand the hemp industry.

The Farm Bill of 2023 also positively influences the sectors like CBD and hemp. Viewing the recently submitted 2023 SB 846, individuals of legal age can keep no more than 30 g for personal usage. The bill will establish the Cannabis Business Development Fund and Cannabis Control Board.

It would be an excellent step to create regulations for marijuana businesses, including distribution, advertising, and licensing.

Pennsylvania Marijuana Laws in 2024

  • You may possess up to 1 oz of weed for private use. However, few regions of Pennsylvania restrict the possession of marijuana.
  • Carrying around 30 g is a misdemeanor, resulting in spending thirty days in jail and paying a $500 penalty. Additionally, the first-time offenders may get a probation for one year.
  • If you get caught carrying over 30 g of the pot, you will face one-year imprisonment and a $ 5,000 fine.
  • Repeat offenders are not qualified to forego fines or jail time.
  • Distribution and sale of 1-2 pounds results in a year in prison and a $5000 fine. The same for 1000 pounds results in 10 years in prison and a $ 10,000 fine. Selling marijuana to minors doubles the penalty.
  • Cultivating marijuana plants is a felony and can lead to 1-5 years in prison with a $15000 fine.
  • Selling or possessing cannabis equipment could be a misdemeanor, with the offender getting jailed for one year with a fine of $2500.
  • The charges for carrying concentrates and hash will rely on the amount an offender possesses. The penalty can be between 30 days to a maximum of 5 years. The fine also ranges between $500-$15000.
  • Seeling of possessing cannabis paraphernalia related to minors leads to imprisonment of 2 years and a fine of $5,000.
  • If you think driving intoxicated will not lead to severe punishment, think again. The zero-tolerance approach for first-time DUID is a misdemeanor. You can be behind bars for 72 hours, extending to six months. Further, you must pay a penalty of up to $5,000 with a license suspension for 18 months.
  • First and second DUID offenders must attend alcohol highway safety school and fulfill community service of 150 hours.


Can my employer fire me for using medical marijuana in PA?

  • Employers should refrain from discriminating against workers based on whether they use medical marijuana. By law, they cannot fire or discipline the employees based on whether they are medical marijuana-eligible users. Nevertheless, employers can correct employees for being intoxicated by medical cannabis during working hours.

What is the medical marijuana bill in PA?

  • The medical marijuana bill introduced by the Bipartisan senators of Pennsylvania will extend the existing medical cannabis program of the state. It will enable patients aged 21 years and above to grow their marijuana plants for private use. The eligible patients will be able to purchase cannabis seeds from licensed dispensaries.

Can patients smoke medical marijuana in their backyard in Pennsylvania?

  • While cannabis flower is the latest addition to the list of medical marijuana, smoking marijuana flower can still lead to penalties. You must only ingest or vape medical marijuana.

By Kif Team

The Kif Team has expert team of writers with a profound understanding of holistic medicine. We specialize in assisting individuals in obtaining their medical marijuana cards. We firmly believe in the therapeutic benefits of medical cannabis for various health conditions. Our mission is to educate and enlighten as many people as possible about its potential advantages.

Terms & Conditions