The legalization of marijuana in Arkansas marked a revolutionary decision of the state government. Like many states of the USA, the Arkansas state government legalized weed consumption for medical reasons in 2016. However, unlike many American states, Arkansas has not legalized weed consumption for recreational use.
Is Recreational Marijuana Legal in Arkansas?
The state government of Arkansas strictly adheres to the rules and regulations of Federal Law. According to Federal law, consumption and possession of weed is considered unlawful. The U.S. Congress stated that marijuana is a Schedule 1 drug in the Controlled Substances Act in 1970.
Arkansas has been following the same rule. The state does not permit its individuals to consume weed for recreational purposes. As of 2023, the state government of Arkansas has not passed any amendment allowing the legal consumption of weed for recreational purposes. This type of weed consumption is considered illegal in Arkansas.
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Arkansas?
In 2016, through the passage of the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment, the state government of Arkansas legalized the consumption of marijuana for necessary medical purposes.
As per the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment, a licensed doctor can prescribe medical cannabis to a qualifying patient. Under the same amendment, the qualifying patient can possess marijuana, too.
However, each qualifying patient must have a license to purchase medical marijuana from a government-registered medical dispensary. The Arkansas Department of Health issues the license.
The Kif provides a telemedicine service that works tirelessly to help qualifying patients to obtain their medical marijuana I.D. cards.
Unlike other American states, Arkansas only permits the legal purchase of medical marijuana to registered card owners. The card does not allow qualifying patients to cultivate weed plants. They are not allowed to grow these plants anywhere. A qualifying patient can only possess 2.5 ounces of weed every 14 days.
The USA has been using marijuana for several years now. Arkansas state government has permitted doctors to prescribe weed as a medicinal alternative to needy patients.
A qualifying patient is qualified to consume weed when they are sick with a terminal or debilitating illness. Medical conditions like AIDS, HIV, Alzheimerâs, Crohnâs, chronic pain, nausea, arthritis, cancer, and more are listed as the qualifying diseases for marijuana consumption.
- It is a Class A misdemeanor if an individual obtains up to 4 ounces of weed. A first-time offender faces a maximum of 1 year of incarceration. The same offense is treated as a felony when the same individual is caught for another illegal weed possession.
- The offender is arrested for a Class D felony when caught with weed with the intention of delivering. Offenders may be sentenced to prison for up to 6 years. Again, the fine may rise to $10,00. In such cases, the amount of weed remains above 4 ounces.
- When the quantity of rescued weed is limited to 10 to 25 pounds, the crime is treated as a felony. Offenders are sentenced to a minimum of 3 years. The maximum punishment can be a 10-year serve in a correctional home.
- Possession of cannabis above 25 pounds is a felony. The prison sentence is limited to 5 to 20 years when the amount weighs less than 100 pounds. The offender is sentenced based on the amount and the severity of the crime.
- An offender is sentenced to at least 6 years when caught illegally possessing cannabis above 100 pounds. The maximum duration of the prison period can extend to 30 years based on the seriousness of the crime. For that, the quantity must not exceed 500 pounds.
- The sentence for possessing illegal marijuana gets doubled if the offender has a record of similar convictions. In such cases, the sentence can be extended to 10 years.
Is Weed Decriminalized in Arkansas?
Weed is partially decriminalized in Arkansas. As the state government follows the laws of the federal government of the USA, Arkansas diligently follows the regulations of the federal body. It is a criminal offense to have weed without a valid medical marijuana ID card in Arkansas.
Moreover, a few people are allowed to cultivate cannabis. The state government established a commission after 2016. That commission is called the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission.
It is responsible for issuing licenses to people to cultivate and distribute marijuana within the state. In short, the entire legal weed transaction is carried out between the licensed parties only. Violation of this is treated as a criminal offense.
Future of Cannabis Legalization in Arkansas
Though the state government has only allowed the consumption of medical marijuana, it has assisted in the positive growth of the economy of Arkansas. Licensed people can now grow weed legally. Moreover, with the governmentâs permission, brands and companies invest in these farms.
The future of legalizing cannabis consumption is not clear in Arkansas. As the state adheres to federal law, it may not legalize weed consumption for recreational purposes.
Arkansas Marijuana Laws in 2023
- Residents of Arkansas are not permitted to consume medical marijuana. They can only if they have a license to do that.
- A medical marijuana cardholder must cross the bar of 18 years. A minor must produce an attested form of their legal caregiver to obtain a card.
- A qualifying patient is not allowed to consume marijuana in a public place.
- You are not allowed to consume weed on the properties occupied by the federal body.
- The Arkansas government does not permit the consumption of marijuana in schools, places that accommodate pregnant women and children, or any religious places.
- Residents of Arkansas are not allowed to plant marijuana without a government license.
- A U.S. Military member cannot obtain a medical marijuana card. The same law applies to a National Guard member.
How can I register my application for a medical marijuana card in Arkansas?
You need to produce a duly filled registration form, a written certificate of a licensed physician, a clean photocopy of the front side of your driver’s license issued by Arkansas, and the required application fee to get a medical marijuana ID card. KIF can help you register your application in a seamless way.
Can I apply if I am an outsider?
You can apply for a licensed medical marijuana I.D. card as a visiting out-of-state patient. You must produce your state’s valid medical marijuana card as proof and conditions that make you eligible to apply.
Is medical marijuana legal everywhere in Arkansas?
Consumption of medical marijuana is not allowed in public places, schools, daycare centers, religious places, workplaces, federal property, no-smoking areas, in front of minors, etc.