Is Weed Legal In Oklahoma?
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Well, if you’re looking for medical marijuana in Oklahoma state then we have some good news for you as the state has already legalized medical marijuana. However, possession of recreational marijuana in any amount is a misdemeanor punishable as per the law.

No, recreational marijuana is illegal in Oklahoma, and anyone involved with the possession and consumption of any amount of marijuana will be charged with a misdemeanor.

The state of Oklahoma legalized medical marijuana back in 2018 and the state’s cannabis regulatory authority began accepting applications in August of the same year. The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Program doesn’t have a list of qualifying medical conditions as patients can get a medical marijuana recommendation from a certified physician if the physician believes that medical marijuana will be beneficial for overall treatment.

Penalties for Marijuana Possession

Having any amount of marijuana in possession is a misdemeanor punishable by a one-year incarceration and a fine of up to $1000.

The sales and distribution of marijuana are punishable by two to five years in prison and a fine between $20,000 – $500,000 depending upon the amount of marijuana.

Is Weed Decriminalized in Oklahoma?

Unfortunately, no. Marijuana possession regardless of the amount is a misdemeanor and you’ll be facing a trial no matter the arguments you may present.

Future of Cannabis Legalization in Oklahoma

At the moment there are two bills pending to be put on the ballot once approved by the local authorities. The first bill is the ‘Oklahoma Marijuana Regulation Act’ which will allow adults 21 or older to possess up to 8 ounces of marijuana. The second bill aims to allow adults 21 or older to possess/purchase up to one ounce of marijuana and grow up to six adult cannabis plants for personal use.

Oklahoma Marijuana Laws In 2024

Possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by incarceration and a fine.
Sales and distribution of marijuana within Oklahoma is also a punishable offense resulting in prison time between two to five years and a fine up to $500,000 (maximum) depending upon the amount of marijuana involved.

Medical marijuana patients are allowed to have up to 3 ounces of marijuana in person and up to 8 ounces back at home.


Can I Grow My Own Cannabis In Oklahoma?

  • If you are a registered medical marijuana patient, only then you’re eligible to grow up to 12 cannabis plants for your use within your private residence.
  • No, as per the law, smoking marijuana is prohibited on all city properties, vehicles, buildings, parks, etc.

Can I Buy Marijuana Products Online?

  • Yes, the state of Oklahoma does allow registered medical marijuana patients to buy required medical marijuana products online.

Terms & Conditions