Yes, the state of Ohio does allow patients who are not yet 18 to apply for a medical marijuana card. The state officially legalized the use of medical cannabis all the way back in 2016. Since that year, the cannabis laws within the state have been upgraded considerably. But, it is worth mentioning that as a minor, the patients must be accompanied by a designated caregiver.
Eligibility requirements for a medical marijuana card in Ohio
The state of Ohio follows the standard eligibility criteria set to determine whether a patient can get access to medical marijuana or not. As per the criteria, the patient must be a resident of Ohio and must have a valid medical marijuana recommendation from a certified medical doctor. A patient who is not yet 18 can also apply for a medical marijuana card with the help of a designated caregiver.
Qualifying medical conditions
As per the state law, a patient must be diagnosed with one of the following qualifying medical conditions in order to be marked eligible for an Ohio medical marijuana card,
- Chronic Pain, Muscle Pain, and Other Types of Pain
- Seizures and Seizure Disorders
- Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (IBDs)
- Huntington’s Disease (HD)
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis (Hepatitis A, Hepatitis B, and Hepatitis C)
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Tourette Syndrome
- Spinal Cord Injuries (SCIs) and Spinal Cord Diseases (SCDs)
- Sickle Cell Diseases (SCDs)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI), Stroke
- Parkinson’s Disease (PD)
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
What exactly is a caregiver?
A caregiver is an individual who has the right to aid a qualifying patient with marijuana possession and purchase. Within the state of Ohio, a qualifying patient can have up to two caregivers. Each caregiver will apply for a caregiver’s license separately and will have to pay a $25 fee.
Medical Marijuana Laws for minors in Ohio
The medical marijuana laws are similar for both qualifying adult and minor patients within the state. Some of the key points of these laws include,
- Medical marijuana patients can possess up to a 90-day supply of relevant products.
- Selling any amount of cannabis in any capacity is a felony.
- The possession of smoking paraphernalia is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $150.
The state of Ohio has established a balance between cannabis laws and how to implement them. However, the policies taken by the state regarding caregivers and their rights to aid registered patients in certain ways are surely commendable.