Is Weed Legal In North Carolina?
Reading Time: 2 minutes

As of 2024, recreational marijuana is still illegal in North Carolina. The only exception is for patients diagnosed with treatment-resistant epilepsy. Even in that case, the only accessible medical marijuana products are low THC / high CBD oils.

No, recreational marijuana is still illegal in North Carolina, High-THC marijuana is still considered as a Schedule VI substance which can result in severe penalties within the state premises.

Patients who are diagnosed with a treatment-resistant form of epilepsy are eligible to apply for a medical marijuana permit which only allows them to consume low THC/ high CBD oils. This makes the North Carolina medical marijuana program almost non-existent.

Penalties for Marijuana Possession

  • The first-time offense will be treated as a misdemeanor which will only result in a financial fine of a maximum of $200 and no prison time.
  • Subsequent offense or possession of more than half ounces of cannabis/paraphernalia (bongs, pipes, etc.) is punishable by jail time and a maximum fine of $1000.

Is Weed Decriminalized in North Carolina?

The state of North Carolina has decriminalized marijuana up to some extent. For example, you won’t face jail time for a first-time offense involving marijuana. However, larger quantities of marijuana in possession can end up in serious legal penalties and jail time.

The Future of Cannabis Legalization in North Carolina?

Support for marijuana legalization is rising day by day. The recent efforts made to legalize marijuana through the Senate flopped in 2020. However, many of the senators who are up for re-election are in favor of medical marijuana legalization. An estimated 80% of voters are in favor of medical marijuana legalization and about 57% are in favor of recreational marijuana legalization.

North Carolina Marijuana Laws In 2024

  • The sale of 10 pounds or less of marijuana is a Class I felony punishable by three to eight months imprisonment and a fine for a first offense.
  • Possession of half an ounce to an ounce-and-a-half is a Class 1 misdemeanor resulting in a maximum jail sentence of 45 days and a discretionary fine for a first offense of up to $1,000.
  • The cultivation of under ten pounds of marijuana is a Class I felony.
  • Possession of more than one-and-a-half ounces but less than ten pounds is a Class I felony, resulting in a sentence of three to eight months and a discretionary fine for the first offense.


Can I Grow My Cannabis In North Carolina?

  • No, growing cannabis in North Carolina is a Class I felony punishable by imprisonment.
  • Under the North Carolina Marijuana Act, consumption/possession of marijuana is illegal as the compound is categorized as a Class 6 substance. This also involves smoking marijuana in private and public spaces.

Can I Buy Marijuana Products Online?

  • No, distribution and cultivation of cannabis with the intent of sale is punishable by the state law which stops distributors and online service providers from working in North Carolina.

Terms & Conditions