Is Weed Legal In Mississippi?
Reading Time: 2 minutes

If you’re someone who qualifies for medical marijuana then it’s your lucky as the state of Mississippi legalized medical marijuana in 2022. However, recreational marijuana use is still legal within the state and does come with some serious penalties.

No, recreational marijuana is not legal in Mississippi. Fines will be imposed on first-time offenders. For subsequent coalitions, fines can be imposed along with prison time.

Initially, a 2020 referendum moved the motion to legalize medical marijuana within the state. But the Supreme Court intervened and reversed the referendum decision. Finally, the bill was turned into law back in 2022 and was signed by Gov. Tate Reeves. As per the new law, qualifying patients can possess up to three ounces of marijuana and grow cannabis in controlled indoor environments.

Penalties for Marijuana Possession

30 grams or less

  • First offense, a fine of $250
  • Second offense, a fine plus 5 to 60 days imprisonment
    Third offense, a fine of up to $1,000, a jail sentence of up to 6 months

Over 30 grams to 250 grams

  • 1 to 3 years in jail, fine up to $1,000

250 grams to 1 kilogram

  • 2 to 16 years in jail, fines up to $250,000

1 kilogram to 5 kg or more

  • 6 to 30 years imprisonment, fines up to $1 million

Is Weed Decriminalized in Mississippi?

We can say that weed is decriminalized in Mississippi up to some extent as the state does allow the residents involved to secure themselves from a felony charge against them on a first, second, and third offense basis.

Future of Cannabis Legalization in Mississippi

As of 2024, no legislation is pending revolving around expanding the current medical marijuana program or legalizing the recreational use of marijuana. However, hopes are high that soon the state of Mississippi will follow in the footsteps of other US states and take a more progressive approach towards marijuana legalization within the state.

Mississippi Marijuana Laws In 2024

  • Possessing more than 30 ounces of marijuana will be charged as per the number of offenses registered so far.
  • Medical marijuana patients are only allowed to purchase three ounces of marijuana per month.
  • Exceeding this amount can result in the same legal actions being taken against them as for recreational marijuana users.
  • Possession of drug paraphernalia is punishable by 90 days in prison.


Can I Grow My Own Cannabis In Mississippi?

  • No, cultivation of cannabis is prohibited by the state authorities for both recreational and medical marijuana users.
  • No, smoking marijuana in public is illegal and a punishable offense as per the law.

Can I Buy Marijuana Products Online?

  • No, the state of Mississippi only allows registered patients to purchase medical marijuana products from state-licensed dispensaries.

Terms & Conditions