How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Arkansas?
Reading Time: 6 minutes

The state of Arkansas has an interesting history with cannabis. Quite recently, voters rejected a bill in 2022 that could have allowed personal and recreational usage of marijuana within the state. So, the recreational use of marijuana remains illegal within the state.

The only individuals who are protected by the law when it comes to cannabis consumption are state-registered medical marijuana users. Plus, the registered are allowed only to purchase marijuana products from state-authorized dispensaries.

The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission (AMMC) is the one responsible for regulating the state’s medical marijuana program and evaluating applications. Today let us take a thorough look at the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Program so you can have a solid idea of what to expect when applying for an Arkansas medical marijuana card.

Possible Benefits Of Having A Medical Marijuana Card In Arkansas

As per the 98th Amendment passed back in 2016, the state of Arkansas does allow the growing, purchasing, and distribution of medical marijuana within the state. To enjoy these legal rights, you need to have a valid state-issued medical marijuana card as recreational use of marijuana is strictly illegal and punishable by the state law.

The MMJ card also allows a patient special purchase and possession benefits. For example, patients registered with the AMMC can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana products every 14 days. The state provides legal protection for such transactions only if you have a valid medical marijuana card.

If you are thinking about possessing marijuana in Arkansas without a valid medical marijuana card then stop, the state laws are very strict and direct in this regard. Possession of fewer than 4 ounces of marijuana is considered a Class A misdemeanor by the state which can result in one-year imprisonment and a $2500 fine.

For patients who are eligible for a medical marijuana card but are younger than 18, the state introduced the caregiver program. But, the caregiver must be one of the patient’s parents or a legal guardian.

Eligibility Requirements

The eligibility requirements set by the state of Arkansas to qualify for the state’s medical marijuana program are quite similar to what other US states have set in place. The patient must be older than 18, a permanent resident of the state, and must be diagnosed with at least one of the qualifying medical conditions mentioned by the state’s cannabis regulatory authority.

Arkansas also allows out-of-state medical marijuana cards. The patients having an eligible out-of-state marijuana card get a 90-day temporary pass within the state of Arkansas. Also, regular patients require documents like a paid receipt for the application fee, a written recommendation from a certified physician, and a complete application submitted to the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Patient Registry System.

Qualifying Medical Conditions

As per the Arkansas marijuana laws, a patient must be diagnosed with one of the following medical conditions to apply for a medical marijuana license within the state.

  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Severe nausea
  • Peripheral neuropathy
  • Persistent muscle spasms, including without limitation those that are characteristics of multiple sclerosis
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
  • Cancer
  • Severe arthritis
  • Tourette’s syndrome
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Intractable pain
  • Seizures, including, without limitation, those that are characteristic of epilepsy
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Ulcerative colitis

How To Apply? A Step-By-Step Guide

Before diving right into the step-by-step guide you need to apply for an Arkansas medical marijuana card, you need to gather around some very crucial documents. These documents include,

  • A valid Arkansas state ID or driver’s license.
  • A proof of your permanent residence within Arkansas.
  • A valid written medical marijuana recommendation from a certified physician (not older than 30 days).

Once you get access to all these documents, you need to follow the following steps,

  • If you don’t yet possess a valid medical marijuana recommendation yet, book your virtual appointment with a certified physician via the Kif and get your recommendation.
  • Apply for the Arkansas medical marijuana card with a valid copy of your state ID or driver’s license and other required documents.
  • Pay a $50 non-refundable application fee for your card via a cheque or a money order.
  • Wait for 14 business days during which you’ll get notified if your application is approved by the state or not.
  • Receive your Arkansas medical marijuana online and in hard form via mail once your application is approved.

What To Expect During Your Kif Appointment?

The encouraging part about the whole process of getting an Arkansas medical marijuana card is that you can book an online evaluation to obtain a certified medical marijuana recommendation from a relevant Arkansas physician. How? Well, this is where the Kif comes to your rescue.

Once you book your appointment with us, you’ll be evaluated by a certified medical physician. If the physician feels that it will be in your interest to get a medical marijuana card, you can get your recommendation in a matter of few minutes at best.

Potential Cost

The Arkansas Department of Health charges a $50 application fee for registration. The fee is non-refundable and the card is valid for a whole year. To renew the card, the patient will again pay the $50 application fee.

Medical Marijuana Reciprocity

The state of Arkansas hasn’t signed reciprocity agreements with other states when it comes to medical marijuana. But the state of Arkansas does allow out-of-state patients to apply for a medical marijuana permit. To apply, you’ll need a valid medical marijuana card issued from your parent state.

Also, the conditions in your parent state for which you were approved access to medical marijuana, must approve your application in Arkansas. Additionally,

  • Residents of Louisiana (LA) visiting Arkansas, must possess the pharmacy label with the name and expiration date or the approval letter/recommendation letter from your doctor.
  • Residents of Texas (TX)visiting Arkansas, must have your approval letter or recommendation letter from your physician.

Applying As A Caregiver

The state of Arkansas allows patients with disabilities or patients who are younger than 18 to apply for a medical marijuana card within the state through a caregiver. A designated caregiver helps the patient in purchasing medical marijuana products and even possesses medical marijuana on their behalf to ensure their well-being.

As per state law, the caregiver must be a resident of Arkansas and must have passed a background check. The state does allow multiple caregivers for patients considering that they all apply separately and pay the application fee.

How & Where To Buy Medical Marijuana In Arkansas?

Patients with a registered medical marijuana card are allowed to purchase marijuana products from state-authorized dispensaries. As of now, there are a total of 38 functional state-regulated medical marijuana dispensaries working throughout the state.

Is ‘Cannabis Cultivation’ a better option In Arkansas?

No, both registered medical marijuana patients nor their designated caregivers can’t grow their cannabis. The only legal way to obtain marijuana products within Arkansas is via a licensed dispensary with a valid medical marijuana or caregiver license.

Arkansas Medical Marijuana Laws That You Should Be Aware Of!

  • As per Arkansas law, medical marijuana patients can possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis flower within 14 days after which they again become eligible to possess the same amount for the same period.
  • To purchase medical cannabis products, individuals must possess a medical marijuana card, a qualifying medical condition, and a physician’s recommendation.
  • The state doesn’t offer reciprocity for medical marijuana patients directly. However, visitors can apply for a temporary MMJ card, pay $50, and wait up to 14 days for processing if they have a valid medical marijuana card from another state.
  • Patients can only consume medical marijuana products within their closed private residences and not in public.
  • Patients cannot grow medical marijuana at home and they must purchase the required goods from licensed dispensaries.
  • Patients under 18 and disabled cardholders may designate one or more caregivers to oversee the purchase of cannabis and treatment.


Are there specific medical marijuana doctors in Arkansas who can recommend the card?

  • The state of Arkansas requires you to have a valid medical marijuana recommendation signed by a state-certified medical physician.

Can I use my Medical Marijuana Card from another state in Arkansas?

  • To use your out-of-state medical card in Arkansas, you’ll have to apply for an Arkansas medical marijuana card considering that you have cleared the set conditions.

How long is the Medical Marijuana Card valid in Arkansas?

  • The Arkansas medical marijuana card is valid for one whole year in most cases.

Where can I purchase medical marijuana after obtaining my card in Arkansas?

  • There are a total of 38 licensed dispensaries within the state from where patients having a valid medical marijuana card can purchase medical marijuana.

Are there any restrictions on the amount of medical marijuana I can possess in Arkansas with the card?

  • The Arkansas medical marijuana card allows you to possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana goods for 14 days after which the limit resets.

Can I grow my cannabis plants if I have a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas?

  • No, cannabis cultivation is strictly illegal in Arkansas even for registered medical marijuana patients and caregivers.

What should I do if I lose my Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas?

  • We advise that you apply for a card renewal as soon as possible.

Also Read: How To Renew Medical Marijuana Card In Arkansas?

By Rachel Stone

Rachel Stone is an experienced content marketer with over five years of expertise in cannabis science and culture writing. Her contributions have been showcased in renowned publications such as Forbes, Weedmaps News/, the Wall Street Journal, and more.

Terms & Conditions