The legalization of medical marijuana has never been easy in Oklahoma. They established strict laws and regulations which include severe punishment and prison sentences on possession. But things are different now. Oklahoma is one of the marijuana-friendly states that has opened their arms to cannabis users.
Oklahoma marijuana law does not include a list of qualifying conditions for medical marijuana, but the state establishes several additional qualifications for the Oklahoma marijuana card, including:
- The patient must be at least 18 years old.
- The patient must provide proof of Oklahoma residency.
- A prescription for medical marijuana from a qualified healthcare professional.
In Oklahoma, medical marijuana can also be prescribed to minors under the age of 18 who suffer from qualifying conditions. When submitting an application on behalf of a minor, parents or guardians are required to sign the form, show verification of their authority, and attach two medical recommendation forms.
Meet With An MMJ Doctor
To receive your Oklahoma medical marijuana card, schedule an online appointment with a licensed physician. The entire process along with the consultation will cost you $100. During a quick meeting, qualified doctors will assess your eligibility over the phone, and you can ask any questions you may have regarding the program or cannabis.
Get Approved and Register with the State
An official medical marijuana certification form will be sent to you after your appointment with the doctor and receiving approval for Oklahoma medical marijuana. Using this form, you can set up an account with the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA).
Get Your MMJ Card
Your Oklahoma medical marijuana card will arrive in roughly 7â17 days after you’ve finished all the required papers and submitted your application (if all the information was accurate).
After that, you’ll be allowed to purchase medical marijuana from your preferred Oklahoma dispensaries located all around the state.
Benefits of Having a Medical Card in Oklahoma
- If you have Oklahoma medical marijuana card:
- You can possess three ounces of marijuana flower.
- You can keep eight ounces of marijuana flower in your home.
- You can possess one ounce of concentrated marijuana and seven ounces of edible marijuana.
How to Save Money on MMJ Cards in Oklahoma?
1. Do Proper Research
Itâs always recommended to do the research before applying for the process. Look out for the best options available in your area. To save money on MMJ cards, you can go with the affordable options.
2. Ask for Discounts
Each state establishes its own rules regarding discounts for medical marijuana. However, you might be eligible for a discount if one of the following conditions about your financial or personal situation is true:
- First responder
- Pediatric patient
- Medicaid recipient
- Veteran status
- Senior citizen
Depending on the state you are from, the discount could be up to 50%. To be eligible for any discounts on a medical cannabis card, you must provide proof of your eligibility.
3. Group Deals
Another way to save your money on MMJ cards in Oklahoma is to deal with your doctor in a group. There is a high chance that you will receive a discount if you apply for the process in a group.
4. Stay Updated
Keep yourself updated about the changes in laws and regulations that could be helpful in saving money while applying for a medical marijuana card.
We hope that this blog will be a helpful resource for you as you learn more about the procedure for applying for an Oklahoma medical cannabis card. You can get in touch with KIF at any moment if you have questions or want a card. We would love to help you!